Departure

misty meadows 2

 

I am off to the wedding of my friends A and M, down in the English Peak District. Things will be quiet, but I hope to take advantage of the (presumably) lovely scenery and take a lot of photos – snow is predicted. Which I would be excited about, but it’s March, and March snow is always a little wearying.

 

Happy International Women’s Day and World Book Night (for yesterday). I shall be merging the two holidays by reading a book by a woman on the long train journey down – The Secret History by Donna Tartt.  So if the landscapes going by the train are gloomy and misted like the picture of the Meadows above, I shall have something to keep my mind off of it.

 

Wishing you a good weekend, and that if you are in the frozen Northern Hemisphere, that you stay as toasty as you please.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Departure

  1. Have a great trip. I’ll be looking forward to hearing how you like the Donna Tartt book —- one of those books on my shelf, waiting for me.

  2. I loved The Secret History when I read it…ages ago. I probably should do a re-read and see if I still love it. Have a safe and fun journey!

  3. Beautiful photo there. I too read the Tartt book long ago and remember a compelling creepiness. Which I liked. Safe travels.

  4. Have a good weekend lovely!

  5. Patricia

    The photo is Beautiful. I like mist, and gloom, if that’s what it looks like. Will seek out The Secret History as a future read given the recommendations here.

  6. I’ve not read the book, but do enjoy your photograph…there’s a bit of creepiness in there, too…a compelling one, though.

Leave a comment