Reading at Golden Hare Books / If My Book on Monkeybicycle

Last night I read in a charming bookshop called Golden Hare Books, down in cobbly, curving Stockbridge. You can see a little picture of me there over here! Thanks to everyone who came and to bookseller Ian in particular for making the event happen. There are still copies for sale on the website and in the shop – do go down and check them out if you live in Edinburgh.

 

On Thursday I head to Bristol for Novel Night’s special Short Story edition, featuring the excellent Tania Hershman. This will be the first time I meet her in person, having known her a while on Twitter. Really looking forward to hearing her in action. Are you near Bristol? Come on out! Details through that link, but it’s 8-10pm on the 17th.

 

Also today – I wrote a short piece for If My Book, a series on the legendary Monkeybicycle wherein writers pick a metaphor for describing their book:

 

So what is a flash fiction but a liquid sort of prose that induces, at its best, bright shudders of infinite variety. The shudder of a tree as the lightning strikes it. The shudder of a small, hidden animal running through long grass. The bodily tremor when skin brushes against skin—contact perhaps wanted, perhaps unexpected, but a disruption, not destruction.

Have you picked up a copy yet?  It would mean a lot to me if you did.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Reading at Golden Hare Books / If My Book on Monkeybicycle

  1. Jonathan Churcher

    I had not thought that ‘flash’ referred to lights in one form or another; I thought of ‘flash’ more in terms of the flash mob phenomenon – i.e., a sudden event. However, notes from my ‘review in progress’ include:

    The stories flashhistory genetics myths  archetypesphantoms and fantasies  and projections  – aconglomerate kaleidoscope 

    lights  shades tones blinking lightslike lightsalong a shoreline blinking. Will you read in Swindon?

    Best wishes.Jonathan

  2. I’m digging Monkeybicylce’s new series; I’m glad they poked you for an addition.

Leave a Reply

