Read in Banff

1. Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood
2. The Cove by Ron Rash
3. Red Doc> by Anne Carson
4. A Student of Weather by Elizabeth Hay
5. If Not, Winter: Fragments of Sappho trans. Anne Carson

And most of these I had to donate to others before I left, given the weight of my luggage full of Christmas presents. And maple syrup.

I don’t think I’ll have the energy to review these. I’m only now just stepping out of my fog, my soul stepping back into me. This month is turned over:

To the work I missed.

To writing an essay for The Female Gaze due in before I even left.

To hanging lights against the gloom outside.

To processing what has happened, plotting what has not – in fiction and reality.

I’ve already applied for another residency, the MacDowell Colony in New Hampshire. In a few years, I want to apply to Banff again. Something about being in the mountains, in the woods. Unlikely chances seem more possible after Banff. So too why I am going to be doing this side project on fortune in flash and poem and anecdote.

I’m also sending Flesh of the Peach. Well, have sent it out once in particular to somewhere its weird yearning pieces might fit. But I can’t say much beyond hope hope hope. Real open updates on this when I can, when whatever has happened. When I have teeth and fingernails for the process of telling or starting new.

Until then,

shuffling my little pieces around, and wishing you all, sparks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

