Hoodoos + cursed origami

 

IMG_2667

 

 

I’ve been laying low, preparing for the Creative Futures open studios at Banff. But today I went with some others on a longish walk on the Hoodoos trail. The Hoodoos are tall pillars of rock, left outstanding after glacial erosion. I didn’t get a great picture of them, but imagine over-tall thin termite mounds and that’s something close. It was down to about -26c today. As you can see above, the Bow river was steaming, pretending to be as warm as a bath.

 

 

IMG_2672

 

All this cold weather is terribly aging. By the time I got back, all the hair on my face had frozen white, including my eyelashes. But there was a diamond glint in the air from condensation freezing, and everything was ridiculously beautiful in the light mist and cold, golden light. A good thing that I had this walk to distract me, because today’s the day. Performance time.

 

The cursed origami is really part of a distraction item I made – either for myself or for everyone who is going to visit my studio. I made about 6 different kinds of fortune teller (perhaps you remember making them at school?) where instead of picking a colour, counting out the letters, and opening up a fortune, people will receive, alternatively, lines from Sappho (I’ve been reading Anne Carson’s translation), bits of vague prophesy, and curses extracted from Greco-Roman sources (and tamed a bit, because I don’t want to terrify anyone).

 

Other than weird paper goods, I’ll be showing the Polaroids I took while here, some concrete poems, bits of flash, and I’ll be reading from Flesh of the Peach. The other Scots will have their doors flung open wide too, so after I get my part over and done with, I’m going to enjoy listening and looking at their work.

 

Time to go and get ready/take some long deep breaths.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Hoodoos + cursed origami

  1. Your first photo is really wonderful. You always have such good ones but this one really stands out. It is eliciting so many ideas!

    Anne Carson is wonderful (and Canadian…perfect for your Banff adventure).

  2. What a wonderful location for your writing retreat…and I love that you find it all so “ridiculously beautiful.” I’ve had similar thoughts of my forested mountains and canyons here in Utah…so utterly beautiful, especially under the snow and ice.

  3. Fortune-tellers: we used to call them “cootie-catchers” when I was in school. I haven’t thought about them in a long time…

Leave a Reply

