Milklight

 

 

IMG_1835

 

 

 

I hardly have the art down, but sometimes the light’s like this, and it makes the canal softened, the path and rooftops metallic, the grass and hedge something from a painting by 19th century artist forgotten in a loft by her family for decades and then unfolded in winter. But here in person, it’s Edinburgh, October. 

 

 

In ten days I leave to be in the mountains and research flash fictional narratives and write the third novel, which is of beauty and of desolation. Edinburgh in white, explosive mountain light. Or what lights the mountains have, and I shall find out. 

 

 

I wish sometimes I could be better than I am. Cooler, sharper, smarter, more direct. But I can only reflect the places that made me. Like a book of photographs. Moors and hills, and the cities and towns of Scotland. Even New York couldn’t spit polish me, or Sydney buff away the mist. 

 

Ten days before I go. I’m not sure I’ll post before then. Maybe one last rallying shout. The explorer to her home-rooted crew.

 

 

IMG_1836

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Milklight

  1. “I wish sometimes I could be better than I am. Cooler, sharper, smarter, more direct. But I can only reflect the places that made me. Like a book of photographs. Moors and hills, and the cities and towns of Scotland. Even New York couldn’t spit polish me, or Sydney buff away the mist. ”

    Za zing!!!! Wow. You are a wizard with words.

  2. Ten days! Canada will be better for your arrival.
    Beautifully written, Helen.

  3. This post is beautiful. I too always feel like I’m Irish mist, even in clear Canadian skies.

    I’m so excited for you! You will learn the sky of Chinooks and the clear clean light of deep-down subzero. I envy you this time. Welcome to Canada, my friend!

Leave a Reply

