My residency over at Necessary Fiction

My first post is up! ‘Girl Lit Suggested Reading List’ lays out my mission for September. Please let me know what you think. A taster:

 

Autumn comes in with a high gale and here I am this September to write away with you on an exploration ā€“ of girls in books, of inner and outer landscapes. Like the best adventures, though not perhaps the best essays, it is likely that borders and edges will be misted over, vague, malleable. Come with me, because while I do not write academy-well, I have work to share and voices (or fragments, or urges, or single lines) to which I wish to bear witness.

 

Read More…

 

In other news, I have been shortlisted for an in-person writing residency in Banff, Canada. I’m so keen on going! It’s now in the Banff Centre’s hands and I should hear either way at the end of this month.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “My residency over at Necessary Fiction

  1. Oh Helen, so happy to hear you are shortlisted! That’s great news. Fingers crossed.

  2. All my limbs are crossed for you!

    Also, the article was great and intriguing. Looking forward to seeing more at Necessary Fiction.

    • Thanks! I do hope you’ll enjoy some of the fiction I put up. I’m excited to share what the cadre of girl-lit writers have shared with me.

  3. patricia

    Your description and definition of “a girl” is beautiful, thought-provoking and touching. Good news that you are shortlisted for Banff’s writer residency. I wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

