Limbo

1. In limbo I learn a French euphemism: ‘he went out to buy saffron’ to mean abandonment

 

2. In limbo I read difficult books

 

3. In limbo I read the internet which is difficult for reasons other than syntactical complexity

 

4. In limbo I do not edit

 

5. In limbo I do write sparsely

 

6. In limbo I can see the people above me swimming in heaven, though perhaps it is not heaven, but it is blood bright blue nonetheless

 

7. In limbo I hold vigils over my email account

 

8. In limbo there is a palace of all possible futures overhead and I am in its shadow

 

9. In limbo I am a feminist, I am clumsy, I am a teacher, I am wading through the green grass after the rain has fallen and I am breathing deeply

 

10. In limbo I am in limbo

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

