First pack

 

Something different today: a little gallery all taken in the last few weeks, on Impossible Project Film, using the 30+ year old Polaroid camera (a Supercolor 635, for those who like to know these things).

 

006

 

Rhododendrons seen from the window of the Lochranza Youth Hostel, Isle of Arran (first image taken)

 

003

 

The Kelvingrove Museum, Glasgow

 

002

 

Dusk at Dalry Graveyard, Edinburgh

 

001

 

A reflection of the Polaroid camera and my hand, taken through the window in our new flat, Fountainbridge, Edinburgh

 

008

 

The Union Canal, Polwarth, Edinburgh

 

As you can see, the images have a few colour leaks, and a dreamy look to them. Possibly that means I have to clean the rollers on the camera. Or, in the case of the last picture, refrain from stuffing it into the pocket of my trousers. But anyway, using the Polaroid is a treat, and one that I take full care to enjoy. I like the wooziness. The unpredictable qualities. And being able to have a physical thing to hold. To watch emerge over minutes (long minutes, hidden in a safe unlit place) as I once watched darkroom films swim into clarity.

 

I have to be mindful with each shot, since the film costs £24 for 8 images. For the next two days, there’s a discount code for five euros off, though I’m not sure if it will work in the UK. As of right now, I have one pack left, tucked into our tiny fridge.  What would you like me to take a picture of out and about Edinburgh? I’m thinking the castle from down near St Cuthbert’s Kirk. I’d love to hear your ideas. And of course, have an excuse to go roaming.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

