St Andrews

St Andrews Cathedral

 

It was D’s birthday yesterday, and we went up to St Andrews to celebrate. The picture above shows the old cathedral, built in the 12th century and destroyed in the Scottish reformation in 1560. The University of St Andrews, where I studied for my undergraduate degree, was officially founded in 1410. So the place itself holds a great deal of history. But for D and I the more important history is the one we have a share in. This was the town where we met (ten years ago this coming October), and where D proposed.

 

The West Port, part of the remaining town walls

The West Port, part of the remaining town walls

 

We spent all day wandering around, enjoying ourselves. We met A, and after lunch decided to go down to the Botanical Gardens. What follows are pictures from there. Not much commentary to add – it was just a lovely day, and a chance to breathe and be outside after a week of being mildly ill and working over an essay and edits.

 

St Andrew, patron saint of Scotland

St Andrew, patron saint of Scotland

 

Squash-like cactus

Squash-like cactus

 

 

Space invader cactus

Space invader cactus

 

Orchid

 

Redwood tree - actually quite a slim wee specimen

Redwood tree – actually quite a slim wee specimen

 

Pastries in Taste, a tiny cafe on North Street. I used to work here  - the coffee is the best in the town.

Pastries in Taste, a tiny cafe on North Street. I used to work here – the coffee is the best in the town.

 

 

The entrance to St Salvator's Quad, where a student foam fight is held every year in balmy October

The entrance to St Salvator’s Quad, where a student foam fight is held every year in balmy October

 

 

One last picture from our travels. Fields bathed in the lights from Leuchar's train station, a few miles outside of St Andrews.

One last picture from our travels. Fields bathed in the lights from Leuchar’s train station, a few miles outside of St Andrews.

 

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “St Andrews

  1. I have fond memories of St. Andrews – especially of the cathedral. My husband was golfing – which was fine by me – come on, who could pass up St. Andrews? However, when I tried to find the cathedral I couldn’t. Lost in the rain, some lovely women directed me to the ruins, but first insisted I come in and join them for coffee.

    Early, another lady had insisted her husband help me parallel park my car. What can I say? It was crowded, busy and I was having a heck of a time trying to park when I wasn’t used operating the car from what I considered, the passenger side.

    On that trip, (my Honeymoon, don’t laugh) I have story after story of the hospitality and kind attention many Scots – from the lowlands to the highlands – showed me as I ventured out alone while my husband golfed.

    I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your visit also.

    • A golf widow on your honeymoon! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed yourself nevertheless.
      While we were coming off the train, we met an American tourist who was visiting the town for golf and a wander around. We had a chance to tell him of some good places. Hospitality is a point of pride here.

  2. Delicious all the history, the plant variety and the best coffee in town. Happy Anniversary!

  3. Sounds like a lovely day.

    I adore the photo of the St Andrew statue – the way the robes fall, especially.

  4. Making me feel all nostalgic… I met my other half at uni in St Andrews too 🙂

  5. The essence of a lovely day in images. Some very beautiful ones. I like the painterly quality of that last one.

Leave a Reply

