Thresholds Project take two

 

Today, as I thought of the constant rain and the humidity sleeking the leaves outside, and of my safeness and shelter inside, I started thinking of the Thresholds Project from a while ago. It came to nothing, as D and I were forced to move house suddenly, and a few other things went agley.

I wondered now, if I shouldn’t try a less ambitious version. Maybe print, instead of video? To those who agreed to submit before I flaked out – would you like to submit now? I know I’ve been thinking of what might have been, what you might have chosen to send.

To new writers and poets of differing stripes – would you like to be involved? Check the link for more details.

 

I’d love to throw a real, IRL really real reading, but since most of the writerly people I admire are states-or-Canada-side or elsewhere home and abroad, and I am in Edinburgh, it would not be a satisfying event. It would probably be me in a pub drinking a nice whisky or two, reading your poems/flashes/pieces quietly but enthusiastically to myself.

BUT ANYWAY. Submit to wheresthebread[@]hotmail.com. Ask any questions here in the comments or to that address. And thank you for your patience with me.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Thresholds Project take two

  1. This sounds so fun. I wish I weren’t buried under kids right now or I’d rise to the occasion. I look forward to seeing how it comes together!

  2. nzumel

    ” It would probably be me in a pub drinking a nice whisky or two, reading your poems/flashes/pieces quietly but enthusiastically to myself.”

    Perhaps not the most satisfying event, but it’s a hilarious mental picture.
    In my mind you are declaiming the texts passionately — but quietly — to your shot glass. And maybe the whisky bottle.

    • D would probably be there too, to keep me company, but otherwise this sounds like something I would greatly enjoy doing. Whisky likes to be read to.

  3. What a wonderful idea! I’ve been away so long from reading my favorite blogs. I’m glad I’m making my comeback now. How can we make this be more than whisky drinking alone?

    • Not sure, but the more contributions the merrier, If you fancy flying over for a visit, the Edinburgh Literary Festival is starting soon too…

      • Just checked the dates for the festival. Unfortunately, I can’t make it but I will be on the continent for a undetermined amount of months starting in August.

      • That’s a shame, although I think there should be a fringe for the book fest, as there is a fringe for the main fest in terms of comedy+music. A fringe were the experimental and exciting stuff could take the stage.

  4. Pingback: August like a sharp intake of breath in a field of bright yellows and something like wheat « Schietree

  5. Pingback: Thresholds Project Update! « Schietree

Leave a Reply

