Endless Reads Review at PANK: Zazen by Vanessa Veselka + Another Book Spine Poem

Here’s my latest review over at PANK! As ever, let me know what you think of it (and if you like the sound of Zazen, which I hope you do after this) down in the comments, if you’d like.

Further, Paul Lamb of Lucky Rabbit’s Foot has sent in a lovely Book Spine Poem, one that I think fits the tone of the wonderful Zazen quite well:

Waiting for Aphrodite
Far from any coast
A great current running
the message to the planet
Hard Scrabble
Passage of Darkness
I’ll be away from Friday, up in the North West Highlands, staying in a luxury bothy (an old stone cottage for walkers), and spending time with D and my friend A, stomping around in the bogland and on mountainside, hopefully snapping away pictures of it all. Look out for a probably picture-swamped post later in the week.
7 Comments

Filed under 2012, book cover, book review, Scotland

7 responses to “Endless Reads Review at PANK: Zazen by Vanessa Veselka + Another Book Spine Poem

  1. Veselka’s prose is political and emotionally fierce. “They win; they just roll, pave and drive over everything that’s beautiful: babies, love and small birds. On summer nights with windows open I hear joints cracking like crickets.”

    Makes me wonder if past tense ever tells a vivid story.

  2. Loved Zazen! I actually wrote a review of it for Paste just last month because I enjoyed it so much too. Really hard to write about, but definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year.

  3. intrigued by your PANK review…added it to my goodreads. cheers ~

  4. Pingback: An Endless Year in Review | Schietree

Leave a Reply

