Sunblind, Newsladen

One last image from by the falls of the Clyde. I haven’t had time to take pictures of the glorious sunshine here today, only time to be blinded by it on making my way to the local gym. I’d forgotten my sunglasses, and really regretted it.  Pale eyes used to low winter sun and many cloudy days, exposed to a shock of brightness. Spring, all at once, kicking the old season back before even most trees have budded.

I’m not going to ramble about the weather – as much as I’d like to – but to share some news. My agent, the lovely Drea Cohane is jetting off shortly for London for the Book Fair and from there to Edinburgh, where I’ll get to meet her for a second time. Of course she’s not just coming to have a wee catch up with me, but to chat with people at Canongate Press. For those of you don’t know them, they are a well regarded Scottish publisher who just so happened to pick up Dreams of My Father and The Audacity of Hope right before the author suddenly became quite famous.

They also published M.J Hyland, who wrote the excellent How The Light Gets InI mention her because of an incident in which C, M.J Hyland and I tried to go bowling, and failed, and had some tea and interesting chat instead. That was the only time I met her, much to my regret, as she was fascinating (you hope for that from all the writers whose work you enjoy, but I’m not sure it’s the case). Anyway, back to the present  – I’m glad to see Drea making further contacts, and look forward to taking her to Edinburgh’s only Vietnamese restaurant when she gets in, around mid April.

The other piece of news I have is quite unexpected and wonderful. I’ve been asked to contribute book reviews for PANK’s blog! This came about after I saw that Roxane Gay, on htmlgiant, was giving away free books, and being a poor and bookhungry sort, I jumped at the chance. This lead to an email exchange, and to the very kind offer. I’m a little nervous, to be honest – hoping that my review will be up to the caliber of other reviews on PANK.

If you don’t know the site you should try to check it out. Aside from publishing short and longer fiction and poems and reviewing books, they run a great series called ‘ask the author’ where an author is asked questions based on the poetry or prose of theirs that Pank has published. A zany alternative to drier ‘where do you get your ideas’ interviews. As ever I’ll be putting links up here (provided all goes well) as and when reviews come out.

10 Comments

Filed under 2012, book review, celebration, consolations of reading, consolations of writing, Scotland, The Now

10 responses to “Sunblind, Newsladen

  1. Glad you’re enjoying some sun. I always rib Gill about our bright North American sun…hoping it will remind her of her lovely home country! Ulterior motives, anyone? Say ‘hi’ to Drea for me. I too hope she is successful at the London Book Fair. Best of luck to you.

  2. CJ

    Sunny news all around. Here’s to nothing but more. And your book reviews are stories in themselves I love reading them.

  3. Congratulations Helen! They are lucky to have you to review books!

  4. Deb

    Nice news to warm our suddenly cold weather Tuesday. Really great, Helen! Love the name of Drea’s blog. May she have much success in London and through her, you.

  5. You are sounding very connected. Almost Mafiosa, my friend. I am going to have to spruce up my comments on your blog from now on. I’s and T’s, right?

    • Ha! Every connection is through chance and goodwill. No horse’s heads or palatial homes here. And spelling mistakes are never frowned on – goodness knows I make enough myself.

Leave a Reply

