Small Press Delights

My father-in-law and stepmother-in-law arrived today from NYC and brought my Christmas presents in the form of books (always a good choice) and in particular – books that I had requested due to their inaccessibility over here. Small press books from America! An indie literary bounty!

From L-R: Zazen, by Vanessa Veselka (Red Lemonade), Inferno (a poet’s novel) by Eileen Myles (OR Books), Glaciers by Alexis M. Smith (Tin House Books) and Not Merely Because of the Unknown that was Stalking Toward Them by Jenny Boully (Tarpaulin Sky Press).

Tantalising Рthough right now I am digging into the Atlas of Remote Islands, which has finally arrived (ordered before Christmas). We think it floated here in a cargo trunk tossed by the Gulf Stream. Barnacle species sighted on the wood seem to suggest a lengthy detour in arctic waters.

Posts may be sporadic for the next wee while, but hopefully pictures to come, more of the sights of this country of mine. A few bits of blossom on the black-branched trees, a low drugged sky, but still I am hopeful of blue and sharp images to share.

7 Comments

Filed under 2012, book cover, Edinburgh, reading, Scotland

7 responses to “Small Press Delights

  1. Look at those mouthwatering covers! Swoon.

    Have a wonderful time with your in-laws. Can’t wait to see the photographs.

    • Thanks Averil – the first three were recommended by The Rejectionist, so I have high hopes. The latter is an experimental fiction reworking of Peter Pan. I love the variety!

  2. macdougalstreetbaby

    If I were to judge a book by its cover I’d rush right out and get that Boully book. Wow. Gorgeous.

  3. In-laws bearing books?? Oh, yes. You did a fine job picking your partner.

    Enjoy the time and space being away from the intenet provides you.

  4. Deb

    I’m with Lyra. Book bearing in-laws sounds like heaven. Cannot wait to hear about your reads.

  5. I’ve heard about ‘Zazen’, that really sparks my interest. And I love small presses. I’ve read some great books by Graywolf Press and once had a manuscript request by Milkweed Editions but the stories went somewhere else. I think if I liked writing less I’d love to run a small press. Enjoy your reading!

Leave a Reply

