Share your spaces

Above is a picture of my work space – a shifting island  (from which I am currently writing this post) which might migrate to the wooden floor or up onto the sofa, the table nearer or further away, carrying drinks or water or other necessary provisions. The big round hedgehog – called Roly – was a Christmas present from D and acts as a prop for my back or chin. That book is my current Endless Read – Hello America by J.G. Ballard.

Why am I writing all of this? Because I want to hear about your spaces. The place in which you work, or have carved out a moment of peace for yourself, whether permanently or in the last three minutes or so. Personal spaces. Public spaces made personal. The spot behind a hedge where you look up at the sky, pretending to be out on a ciggie break. If it is summer where you are, the park where you lean against a tree, breathing in the warm air to replenish yourself. Indoors – your home office. Your worn and lovely kitchen table. The inside of your car. Wherever is yours, in whatever way you have claimed it.

I’m asking for photographs with descriptions, and hoping some of you might like to share. You can take them with whatever instrument you have to hand: your phone, with your advanced SLR camera, with your vintage polaroid and scan it in. Or draw your space, if that’s how you want to share it. For all who’d like to take part, please send your photo and description (if you’d prefer to keep it silent, that’s also good) to: wheresthebread[@]hotmail.com Any questions? Please get in touch.

All entries considered, and I hope to post them up a week from today. Please include links to your blog, and I will pop them in. Thank you!

27 Comments

Filed under The Now

27 responses to “Share your spaces

  1. macdougalstreetbaby

    I love the cheeks on Roly. He looks like he’s perfect support.
    And what a great idea! My challenge will be how to frame a simple chair and a laptop!

  2. Oh, maaaaan. Sat down in my little chair to write this morning and got sucked right in to your project. Serves me right for reading first instead of getting right to the writing– but this is such a good idea! What fun!

  3. This is a really unique idea. And that hedgehog is adorable! My friends bought me a PillowPet (a popular stuffed animal in the States) for my birthday. He’s a giraffe and I named him Harold. My cat is jealous of him haha.

  4. CJ

    Totally fun idea.

  5. Very interesting, Helen…. I wonder what you’ll learn about us by looking at our places. 🙂

  6. I love your hedgehog!
    I’ll do my best to get a picture. of my workspace. It’s tricky because it’s public transportation and people don’t look kindly on getting their photo taken…

  7. I’ll send you a photo of my humble work area!

  8. I love this idea, and I happen to have a vintage polaroid. . . But my work spaces are so ugly. . .

    Still, whether I send a picture or don’t, I can’t wait to see everyone else’s. The hedgehog is the bomb-diggity.

  9. I’m glad I’m not the only one who writes on an incredibly small surface.

  10. Deb

    When I moved back into this house last year, I took over the dining room. It has two huge windows with lots of sunshine and I love the view. I have a wooden library table, a silk rug my husband lugged back from India, ceramic pots and plates collected from travels, a clock that was carved by a Finnish artist for my wedding, a faded blue star flag, and a wall of shelves. You can barely see the table.

    • Deb

      Ps – I love that floor! Gorgeous!

    • That sounds beautiful, Deb…any chance you’d like to share the image? Other than in words as you have done, I mean.

      • Deb

        Aw, Helen! Are you going to make me pick up my piles so you can actually see something?

        Soon, I will be giving it up for an apartment in a northern European city that’s barely the size of my office and living room. Think I’ll be writing on the bed, or in a coffee shop, or a quiet corner at the university. If there is such a thing.

  11. Pingback: August like a sharp intake of breath in a field of bright yellows and something like wheat « Schietree

  12. Pingback: Views of a cold city – a giveaway | Schietree

Leave a Reply

