Storyboarding, Storymaking

D and I are whisking off today on the trains bound North for Oban, the gateway to the isles (though we aren’t sure what our plans are on that point).  Not a literary journey, but likely a very picturesque one.  As you can guess, I will probably have plenty of photographs to share. I hope I don’t overdo the images to the detriment of words, and that soon I will have a lengthy, word-rich post for you to sink your teeth into. You might also ask, what happened to Endless Reads 2012? Tobias Smollett happened to it. Smollett and all his Georgian puffery and personal wretchedness…I hope four-odd hours confined to a carriage will help me toil through more pages than I have managed so far. He’s going to be one of the two-weekers. Not giving up yet!

 

More fun so far has been starting a second illustration class at the Edinburgh College of Art.  This time, we have to design one lengthy project, alongside general practice and keeping an observational sketchbook.

 

Tonight, we were set the task of producing a mock-up of our project ideas.  I decided to do a series of illustrations showing Aida’s long bus journey from New York City to New Mexico. It would be a blurring of reality and the work-in-progress, of the real journey D and I took and the rough outline I’ve made in the draft of The Millennial. Non-fiction visual narrative, I suppose? I said I would put them together in a little booklet, perhaps. After class, one of the other students came up to me with a suggestion that I add diary entries for each panel, to give a feeling of intimacy. I’m havering on this idea, though I was so grateful to have kind feedback. I like the idea of having it a silent sequence,  removed from the burden of text (I know I’ve been writing too much when I say that, and welcome Oban as a wee break from type-type-type).

 

Here are the rough (oh so rough) drawings I made, plus a little extra one just for fun. There will be more scenes in the final project, I think. More drama, as there was on the actual journey.

Diary of a houseplant. The real-life one didn't take to being sketched, and has turned very peely-wally in the few hours since.

12 Comments

Filed under 2012, Endless Reads 2012, Illustration, New Mexico, New York, Planning, reading, The Millenial, The Now

12 responses to “Storyboarding, Storymaking

  1. I really like your little sketches Helen. Especially “board the bus” with her big wistful eyes.
    Happy traveling!

  2. macdougalstreetbaby

    I think you’re right. These pictures don’t need any text whatsoever. They’re gorgeous. I can’t wait to see what they evolve into.

  3. The first one looks like me at my laptop, dreaming of far-off places.

  4. I like your diary of a houseplant. I wish that’s all it took for everyone to feel good about their accomplishments.

  5. CJ

    The emotional life of a houseplant is just historical. I love your drawings and could see them with a narrative but they do stand alone too.

  6. CJ

    I meant hysterical–what a iPad refill blunder!

  7. I loved ‘havering’. Great word. And the sketches are curious – a little magic, a little twisted. Lovely! Plus I do talk to my plants and they tend to use very few words, much the same as yours.

Leave a Reply

