Another calling out

Good things: a friendly deer approaching to ask for some of my cheese scone, Bald Mountain, NY

A week ago, Acid Free Pulp very kindly offered a blogger award to me, and as I posted elsewhere, I am not too keen on the rules and obligations but instead prefer to posting links towards blogs I read and enjoy. So, here is a second list!

 

Acid Free Pulp, a writer and translator, and her blog is a pick-and-mix of book reviews, issues of translation, literary asides and fun diversions. Also in the literary vein is Multo (ghost). Multo is the Tugalog word ghost, and the blog is full of fascinating insights into the mythology and folklore of the Phillipines and other places. This is of particular interest to me since the ‘schie’ part of this blog’s name also means something close to ‘ghost’ (or spirit or fairy, the lines are a little blurred), and Kilea was full of the impact of folklore on the lives of the characters.

 

Two really interesting book review sites are Eve’s Alexandria and A Year of Reading the World. Eve’s Alexandria is made up of contributions from a number of dedicated readers, and their reviews are always intelligent and insightful. The current post is on a favourite book of mine, George Mackay Brown’s Greenvoe, which is about life on a fictionalised Orkadian island – a first novel produced by the poet at the age of fifty. A Year Of Reading the World is the perfect destination for those wanting to read more widely. The writer of the blog is trying to read a book from as many as she can of the 196 sovereign states of the world.

 

Draw and Shoot‘s Karen has a marvelous eye for detail and composition in her photography. She has recently captured the most delicate aspects of the Canadian winter, in the brittle, frosted stems of plants and the interplay of light and fabric in a window. The last blog I’d like to highlight here is The Vintage Cookbook Trials, which is another group blog adventurously making recipes from, as you can guess, old cookbooks. Some of the recipes, from the fifties and seventies especially, are a little on the frightening side, but they are always made and photographed with humour and willingness to try out new things. And where else would you find out about curry from the 1740s, or ‘Herman the German Friendship Cake‘?

 

 

 

15 Comments

Filed under book review, celebration, The Now

15 responses to “Another calling out

  1. CJ

    I am also fascinated by story pressure on the living from the reimagined past. My Rambler’s spirits are Cherokee conjurers, ancestors of my main girl. Am reading Green Girl now, fascinated by the author’s documentary POV, the hard to dramatize fluidity of her language and how illusive Ruth remains. Makes me feel hopeless and on the right track all at once.

  2. Thank you for saying such lovely things about Eve’s Alexandria! 🙂 And for the other links, aside from Reading the World I hadn’t heard of any of them and I’m looking forward to an explore.

    • I was glad to be able to put a link to it – I’ve been reading for a year or two now, and always appreciate the perspective and depths of the reviews.

  3. Thanks for the kind words and pointing me to some new blogs as well!

  4. Much thanks Helen! 🙂
    I look forward to checking out your other recommendations.

  5. Thank you so much for the call-out – glad you enjoy our blog.

    • I just showed your blog to my mum (not a big blog reader) and she really loved it – she has hundreds of recipe books, some of them containing quite terrible examples of ‘food’ from their eras.

  6. nzumel

    Late to reading this, but thank you for the mention!

  7. I do love your photo. And I wish I had more time to read and blog-follow. But your blog is always, somehow, a lovely green and cool resting place.

  8. Hi there, very belatedly found this post. Thanks very much for mentioning A Year of Reading the World. Hope your year is going well so far.

Leave a Reply

