Best foot forward

Job searching, today. Which means keeping an eye out. Which can also mean, holding up a camera to put the lens between myself and the challenges, anxieties, of seeking and calling in and offering my CV, my record of experience.

The gates of Greyfriar's Kirkyard, in the last of the sun

Candlemaker's Row, past the Kirkyard, where the light was still good

I tried in a whisky shop, a cheesemongers, a couple of independent clothing shops, a whisky bar. I like whisky and know it a bit, appreciating how each kind carries in a sip the complexities of water and soil and salt from where it was made.The manilla envelope holding my papers has a particular smell, stronger when I first opened the packed. Unplaceable scent, from the paper mill in which it was made. Almost like – some spice, dried on the stamen. It will remind me of this trip, now, but it will never quite be made ordinary.

One of the many small, closed off shops selling things not quite readily antiques, not quite junk. Evidence of estate sales, emptied attics, living rooms

A courtyard down a covered close, Grassmarket

An idea I had while listening to the crooning of The National as I wandered about (not the most uplifting choice… but it fit to the melancholy feel of last light) was to make up a booklet of some of my pictures, Edinburgh first, perhaps expanding outwards. Or placing cities in opposition to one another, to see what each contrast brings out from the last. Whisky photography, in a way. I’m not sure the way to go about this. I saw an advert in a gallery for a class on how to arrange photography in books, but I don’t think I’d need a class, this time. Just lots of white paper, ink in the printer, a needle and thread.

As to the title of this blog post? Well, I was coming back from the expedition, and decided to motivate myself. Best foot forward:

And just as I finished, I looked up to see the neighbour downstairs smirking

Oh well, it still motivates me, no matter.

20 Comments

Filed under Edinburgh

20 responses to “Best foot forward

  1. Oooooh. Love the National. Wish WP allowed us to pipe in music as an accompaniment to our blogs.

  2. CJ

    I’d buy one of those stitched together photo pamphlets of yours. My mentor in art school was a big one for photo comparisons–John Baldessari–but truth be told girl I prefer your best foot forward sightings to his image platitudes.

  3. I’ll be posting my job search too, in a few months, and I guarantee it will be a lot more fraught and with fewer beautiful pics. Good luck!

  4. I love your photo series. Glimpses of such historic places filled with ghosts of stories.
    I also adore that you are a whiskey lover.
    I wish you the best in your search.

  5. I love the idea of stitching together photos to create a book, beautiful.
    Job searching is daunting, but selfishly I love what you create from the thoughts during it.
    The last picture, the rays shooting out from the center…best foot forward indeed!

  6. Your words are mesmerizing sometimes…how they just capture the mind and make it go and stay where you led it…the tastes in the whisky and the smell of your freshly opened package of paper…simple, but captivating.

    Thank you. 🙂

  7. Good luck with the job search. There is a great whisky bar here in Vicenza. I’m not sure they have a clue.. Gorgeous photos. Are you sure the big picture doesn’t include some photography work? Freelancing?

    • Thank you, Catherine. All I have is a point and click casio, pixlr.com and time, so not sure if I’d be able to advertise my services without some raised eyebrows.

  8. Ah but I went to exhibitions in Mali where the photographers – European and African – used old Kodak Instamatics like my Mum had or pinhole cameras like the ones you still find in the street. It’s the eye that counts!

    • Thanks for the encouragement! It’s inspired me to have a look at printing some things out, even if local galleries are a little intimidating yet.

  9. Many fingers crossed! I totally understand how you’re feeling. I just went for a job interview yesterday to get a second job. Oh the joys of being a writer….Also, as always I love the photos. They have such an interesting quality to them.

  10. I love the picture of the Candlemaker’s Row. And the post 🙂 Good luck with your job search!

Leave a comment