Kilea Drawn

For the illustration course exam, I have made up a chapbook of illustrations and short snippets from the early chapters of Kilea.

Front cover (it looks a bit spooky, but the rationale is found later in the text)

It’s my first effort at doing an extended sequence of illustrations, and has been quite intensive; hours of cutting out, hours of drawing. Who knew it could take two bent-backed hours to draw a small panel illustration in pen and watercolour?

Endpages and title. The pine plantation motif from a smaller version I posted here a few days ago.

The opening paragraph to Kilea (also posted here earlier sans pale faced child)

This is the drawing that brought me a new respect for the art of rendering.

Last one for now, What Kilea found in the playground

I have a few more, but they need tidying up a little. I don’t know what I could do with the chapbook after the exam, other than keep it in a drawer, to look back at later to track progress. Sigh in relief that I can get back to focusing purely on the next novel. Yet it has been really satisfying to create something tangential to the writing, and who knows, I may in time see that it has helped sharpen my writing style as well.

8 Comments

Filed under Edinburgh, Illustration, The Now

8 responses to “Kilea Drawn

  1. Lovely illustrations and your writing is beautiful too!
    A wonderful post. 🙂

  2. CJ

    I love this work, precise and heartbreaking at the same time.

  3. I am amazed that you can take hours to do these illustrations and continue writing. Fantastic way to focus in on areas of the text by what you have chosen to draw, no?
    Our very own renaissance woman…well done.

    • Well, I’m sort of lucky that I have the time on my hands, although I would like to be doing other, more financially rewarding things soon. 🙂

  4. There’s a book I want to point you to, Helen, but for the life of me I can’t remember the title. Your wonderful illustrations reminded me of it.

    Shoot. I’ll be back.

    • Due to a bad cold setting in, I am up at a terrible hour (3am over here), and thus very much looking forward to any distraction you can give 🙂

Leave a Reply

