All in the telling…

Victoria St as it grows night

The closes that slide by either side of my tenement building are full of strange howls and small thuds as revelers celebrate All Hallows Eve. It is seven ten, and has been dark for many hours, and I am in the mood to be feartie.

 

So, I began watching a bizarre Japanese horror from the seventies called ‘Hausu‘ or House. It centres around the relationship between a group of school girls, and happily, the treatment of them (so far) has been far from sexualising or demeaning. Except perhaps the one who keeps being called fat (even though she is rather slender). The atmosphere is really what makes it – dreamy, absurd, and with every film trick in the book (before the advent of CGI). The backdrops and sets are gorgeous and completely unreal, and it is genuinely unsettling, mostly because it is so…odd. It’s been interrupted for now, but I will be right back into it shortly. I’d love to read a book that had the same sense to it.

 

I’ve just finished with Amrita –which ended up being frustrating and enlivening in equal measure, because the naivety of the story marred the occasional sparks of translucent beauty. Now it’s onto Jean Rhys’ Quartet, a different sort of horror all together, that of human nature…

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Edinburgh, Planning, Scotland, The Now

4 responses to “All in the telling…

  1. Deb

    I’m thinking I have to get to Edinburgh one of these days. Love your photos and drawings!

    • Thanks Deb – you absolutely should if you can. It’s one of the most beautiful cities, and a great access spot to points north, if you’ve never been to the Highlands. There are downsides to living here, but the scenery is definitely not one of them!

  2. The horror of human nature…your last drifting sentence gave me chills.
    Probably why I stay far away from horror otherwise I’ll be up checking and rechecking locked doors all night long…

    • I’m over-fond of ellipses – Rhys isn’t scary in the conventional sense, but is really giving me another kind of view of 20s Paris. I think I preferred the Woody Allen view of it.

      I stayed up watching videos analysing how Stanley Kubrick unsettled viewers of The Shining by making the Overlook Hotel have impossible dimensions -corridors and rooms that couldn’t physically exist.I was extremely creeped out by the repeated shots of the blood-in-the-lift scene, which the narrator of the video believed had something in it that falls to the ground. Kubrick made it intentionally hard to see and thus unsettling. I watched that film once with a friend after a ghost tour of Edinburgh. Bad idea.

Leave a Reply

