Original/Authentic

Image/Intent

One of the more difficult lessons that living in America has taught me has involved national identity.  Being an immigrant has tested the shape – and rigidity – of my conception of myself as a Scot, a European. A shy, slightly prickly Lowlands-Highlander hybrid possessed of (by?) certain internal political and cultural structures that have made me feel entirely out of place in this country of loud opinions and direct eye contact and direct questions on what I would consider 3 drink minimum topics.

It has been helpful in bringing about the creation of Aida, a much more neurotic and unloved version of an immigrant, who I can subject to the stresses of an imagined, mildly monsterous New York City in order to purge some of the tensions I have felt here. Aida is English, Cornish, and comes with her own set of self-identifiers, which is the kind of challenge which makes me feel less guilty for angling so much from my own experience. Perhaps I will be able to work in similar quirks of experience and have them feel accurate. Notice the careful word choice ‘feel accurate’, not ‘be genuine’ or ‘authentic’. Not the final, defining word.

I’m sure there are lots of novels about the immigrant experience, but what I have read tends to focus on genuine, heartbreaking hardship. I think of Let The Great World Spin, which I had to give up reading, because it was too much New York destitution for me to handle just then. I want, instead, to focus on the quieter story that might be within my abilities – the story of the immigrant who goes home. There was some anecdotal statistic I read that one in three immigrants couldn’t hack the jungles of NYC, gave up on the American dream and got back on the boat. It seems plausible, compelling. For each person who does decide to return, the moment when homesickness becomes desire becomes determination to leave could have been created through the interaction of a thousand sights, ideas, responses, catastrophes, abandonments, judgments – or by any single one element sparking at a precise intensity or moment in time.

How will Aida get to that crisis point? And what will she have become, once back on familiar territory?

4 Comments

Filed under consolations of writing, New York, Scotland, The Now, Theory

4 responses to “Original/Authentic

  1. This sounds quite interesting! In my experience, of having spent the past year here, at home, I can tell you that all of a sudden, the funniest, and most unlikely things – things about home that you’ve never noticed before – will start to appear. I used to struggle to identify my own accent over here, but now I can hear the slight difference between (some) Americans and Canucks. One of the things that really struck me about moving back after being away was how the little things (that once drove me crazy) are now more appealing.
    I wonder if Aida will suddenly develop a longing for traditional steak pasties? When I moved to Cornwall, one of the tutors at uni told us about ‘that smell’, meaning pasties, and said that the locals didn’t eat them. Maybe Aida was one such local, and then, upon her return, finds herself gripped with an unnatural desire for pasties? Maybe Aida will become more Cornish? Or the Free Kernow sort? Maybe she takes to crossing the Hudson, and pretending it’s the Tamar? Can’t wait to see what happens!

  2. Pasties! Ah, that is a compelling idea. It’s hard for me to imagine loathing them, but makes total sense – they really are ubiquitous. And very meaty. Aida might have trouble distinguishing between the Cornish/English sides of herself. It’s all very up in the air right now.

    I’m interested to see what I pick up on and what discombobulates me when I move to Edinburgh. Haven’t lived there since I was eighteen, and I’ve a feeling I have changed more than the city has in that time…

  3. Have you read Colm Toibin’s Brooklyn? If not, you must. He nails the quiet story that is so much more.

Leave a Reply

